[Pixels of] Durham & Newcastle Upon Tyne

I’ve been feeling quite uninspired lately. I want to write, I want to share every waking moment that is now a memory with everyone but words fail me. Routines put me in a trance, it’s one thing after the next. In between, I get lost in my thoughts and they take me mostly to the future. I always tell myself to live in the moment and avoid worrying about the future too much. Who am I kidding, I am the most apprehensive when it comes to the unknown. I think too much about life after this. After this adventure here on foreign land. No doubt this six months (six, really?) have changed me permanently, I am not the same person who boarded the 14+ hours flight with only two neon green suitcases to my name. I left my previous life convinced that I will not return to the same life. Then, slowly but surely, I build a fort here, my own comfort zone, and lose myself. My days go like this – class, then gym/fitness class (Zumba, Sh’bam, yoga, body balance, body attack, body combat, you name it, I’ve tried it), study/assignments when I feel like it, sleep. In between, the time is lost in nothingness, where I just move from one place to another (whether physically or virtually). Routines give me structure, but it makes every day blend into one and I can’t tell the difference between Tuesday and Wednesday.

So, yeah, enough ranting for one post. I meant to talk about Durham and Newcastle. This was a weekend trip to visit another friend in Newcastle. Durham is a very small city, we walked everywhere. The streets are charming, mostly cobblestones and I felt like I was walking in children’s storybooks. We took a one hour tour of the Durham castle, led by a Durham University student.  Most parts of the castle now house students. There’s definitely a novelty in the idea of cramming for an exam at your study table, in a castle.

image

image

image

image

image

We learnt that some scenes from Harry Potter were shot in the church right across the castle. The cloisters did look familiar, I think it was the corridors of Hogwarts.

image

image

image

The market was charming too. I imagined myself as a local, buying fresh produce then having tea and scones in the market. :p There’s a cute signage at the entrance to the market with everyday life tips such as “Love where you live” and “Find your favourite place and tell someone about it”.

image

image

image

The sky was intermittently blue and grey. Locals and tourists bask in the sun and walked everywhere. There are lots of restaurants by the river and I could stay there forever just people-watching.

image

image

image

image

We didn’t do much in Newcastle, spent half the day in an All You Can Eat Buffet. They had everything from Malaysian, Indian, Italian, Chinese to Japanese food. Then we walked aimlessly around the city. Stumbled upon the remnants of a castle, a street market and a gravity defying bridge.

image

image

image

image

image

Weekends are always spent to recharge, to break out of the rut and avoid feeling too overwhelmed. The only thing that I can’t get away from are my thoughts. They persevered in making me overthink about the 1000 ways my future plans can go wrong.

Oh well, hope you enjoyed being in my head 😀

Leave a Reply

